Sign-Up for the APITA Newsletter

Read the latest newsletter!

Nominations Committee Recruiting Candidates to Serve on the APITA Board

The Nominations Committee is looking for individuals who are interested in serving on the APITA Board. Elections will take place at the CCLC Annual Convention in November in Riverside.


The positions available on the Board are: Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary and Treasurer. 

Chair - Shall preside at all meetings of the Board of Directors and shall direct the affairs of the caucus, subject to policies established by the Board of Directors.  The Chair shall perform such other duties as are incident to the office of chair of a corporation, or as properly required by the Board of Directors.  The Chair shall appoint all members of any standing or special committees of CCCA-APITA and shall be deemed a member of all such committees, except that the Chair shall not be a member of the Nominating Committee.  The Chair may also appoint other positions as needed such as a parliamentarian or pro-bono counsel.  

Vice Chair - Shall perform duties of the Chair in the absence of the Chair, and shall perform such other duties as may from time to time be prescribed by the Board of Directors.  The Vice-Chair shall become conversant with the bylaws of and shall serve as an advisor on parliamentary questions at meetings.

Secretary - Shall prepare, publish and keep the minutes of all meetings of the Board of Directors. The Secretary shall keep a membership roster, updated at least once per year; shall preserve the records and shall give all required notices and announcements of meetings at the request and direction of the Chair.  The Secretary shall also serve as chairperson of the Membership Committee.  Additional duties shall be determined and assigned by the Chair.  The Secretary shall perform any other duties as directed by the Board of Directors or as prescribed by the general membership.

Caucus selfie, courtesy of Long Beach City College Trustee Vivian Malauulu

Treasurer - Shall keep and maintain adequate and correct accounts of the properties and the business transactions.  The Treasurer shall collect, care for and, upon approval of the Board of Directors, disburse all funds; shall render periodic and annual reports of the financial affairs and status of APITA; and shall perform such other duties as the Chair or Board of Directors may from time to time direct.  Upon proper and timely notice, the Treasurer's records shall at all times be open to inspection by any Director or member of APITA.


You must be a Trustee or a CEO in order to be eligible to serve as a Board officer.  Officers serve a two (2) year term commencing in late November. 

If you are interested in pursuing an officer position, please contact Nominations Committee Chair, Linda Wah (, for more information.

Thank you to Nominations Committee members Linda Wah, Debbie Ikeda, Judy Chen-Haggerty and Gilbert Wong for helping us seat the next slate of APITA officers.

ACCT Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Presentation

ACCT CEO Noah Brown and Immediate Past President Emily Yim presented on the roles of boards in developing a leadership pipeline that is diverse, equitable and inclusive at the CCLC Trustees conference. Download the slides here.



Debbie Ikeda

Trustee, State Center Community College District

Vice Chair
Rowena Tomaneng

President, San Jose City College


Sue Chan

Trustee, Ohlone Community College District

Secretary/Membership Chair
Nicky Gonzalez Yuen
Trustee, Peralta Community College District

Director At-Large

Mike Fong

Trustee, Los Angeles Community College District

Director At-Large

Andy Li

Trustee, Contra Costa Comunity College District

Director At-Large

Whitney Yamamura

President, Folsom Lake College

APITA c/o GHS LLP 801 N. Brand Blvd., Suite 620, Glendale, CA 92103 

  • w-facebook
  • Twitter Clean
  • w-googleplus